I have been reminded lately about living my life. So I ask why do you live the way you do? I did for a brief time live my life to please someone else and what it got me was a life of depression and abuse from the person I was with. I remember a close family remember telling me early in my relationship “Don’t be you this time, do what they want and maybe it will work out for you this time.” That has to be the absolute worse advice I was ever given.

I was always from birth a independent person. I spoke my mind and did not bite my tongue. I thought I wanted this relationship but what happened almost destroyed my life completely. Since then looking back almost six years since the day I found myself again, I am finally finding ME again. When you have been to hell it is not a easy recovery. Finding myself again has been a difficult road but I am happy to be standing in the light again.

I have come to the conclusion that I “I do not exist to impress the world. I exist to live my life in a way that will make me happy.” Richard Bach

This quote sticks with me and resonates through my life. Do you live to impress others? Or are you living to make yourself happy? Not your children, or your family or your spouse, just for you! Live for YOU! If you don’t know how to make yourself happy then what are you living for. If you make yourself happy then all those around you will be happy. It trickles down, happiness is contagious and don’t you want that for all those you love?

I am not saying to be selfish but to stop giving everyone else everything you have and all your time and save time each day for you and only you. Squeeze out at least 30 minutes. I know it sounds like a lot but it will benefit you more then I can tell you. I don’t care what you do take a walk, take a bath, lock yourself in your room, take a drive alone. Whatever you decide to do unplug, that means it isn’t time to answer emails or text or play on Facebook for 30 mins. Really take time for yourself and pretty soon you will discover a feeling of peace and happiness. We can not serve others whether it be at work volunteering or family if we do not feed our own needs. There is no real satisfaction in impressing others. Impress yourself and make yourself happy! You are worth it!

Leave a Reply

